Reviving the Dream Celebration

Thursday, March 30, 2017

InterContinental Milwaukee Hotel
5:30pm to 6:30pm: Cocktail Reception & Cash Bar
6:30pm to 7:30pm: Dinner
7:30pm to 8:30pm: Program



The Celebration

The 5th Annual Reviving the Dream Celebration includes the presentation of Diverse & Resilient’s 2017 LGBT leadership awards, honoring individuals and organizations for their leadership in, and on behalf of, Wisconsin’s LGBTQ community.

Tickets and sponsorships are available:

  • Individual ticket: $100
  • Individual sponsorship: $250
  • Table sponsorship: $1,000 (includes eight seats)



Bayard Rustin

Bayard Rustin, the event’s namesake, was a leader in the Civil Rights Movement.  Rustin was a mentor and adviser to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the chief organizer of the historic 1963 March on Washington.  Rustin had to work behind the scenes because he was an openly gay man in a deeply hostile era.  The Bayard Rustin Award honors his legacy of working behind the scenes to improve people’s lives through social justice.

Reviving the Dream honors the memory of Bayard Rustin and celebrates lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender leaders working to make Wisconsin—and the world—a better place.



Award Recipients

This year’s leadership award recipients include:

  • Bayard Rustin Award – Sarah Morgan
  • Be Y.O.U. Youth Leadership Award – Kailee Evans
  • Gary Hollander Adult Leadership Award – Syd Robinson
  • LGBT Ally Award – Brett Fuller
  • Community Partner Award – Northwestern Mutual


Keynote Speaker

Gerard Washington, Milwaukee Fire Department Assistant Chief, a great personal and professional advocate on behalf of the LGBTQ community.

Gerard Washington



Partnership Opportunities

We offer various opportunities for companies to sponsor Reviving the Dream and advertise in the program book.  For more information, please click here.

For more information, please contact Gerry Coon, President & CEO of Diverse & Resilient, at or 1 (414) 390-0444.


Presenting Sponsor


Reviving the Dream Sponsors





Diversity Sponsors











northwestern mutual logo




Media Sponsors





Resilient Table Sponsors

  • Tanya Atkinson & Laurie Reisener
  • Eastmore Real Estate
  • Fair Wisconsin
  • Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Gerry Coon & Stewart Dempsey
  • OutReach
  • YWCA of Southeastern Wisconsin



Individual Sponsors

  • Helmut Hampel



Ad Sponsors

  • Arcataur Capital Management LLC
  • Clark Graphics